Odoo 12 Installation on macOS BigSur using Docker

Aditya Nanda Tri Prakoso
3 min readMar 5, 2021

--

Odoo an ERP software that globally used by the company around the world

Hello everyone reading this, my name is Aditya Nanda Tri Prakoso am currently a student at the faculty of computer science at the University of Indonesia. I’m here to share my stories/experience on installing odoo on macOS BigSur with Docker!

In my Installation video, the narration that I make was in Bahasa

First of all, what you need to have in this journey is Docker installed on your Mac device. You can download and install Docker from here. After you already have Docker ready on your device, we can start installing Odoo.

Before we start, I learned the steps from this article by Holden Rehg. There, Holden Rehg explains the steps in more detail, and I’m here to tell the steps from my own experience.

Make sure your Docker is running. You can see it on top of the taskbar that the Docker is running.

Docker Desktop running

After making sure the Docker is running, we can start by creating the directory file, docker-compose.yml, and odoo.conf in the following way.

$ mkdir -p ~/projects/odoo-docker
$ cd ~/projects/odoo-docker
$ touch docker-compose.yml
$ mkdir ./config && touch config/odoo.conf
$ mkdir ./addons

After creating the directory file and the yml and conf file, we need to insert some code to the yml and conf file.

Here I use Visual Studio Code as my text editor to insert the code

You can access the code in the Holden Rehg article. After inserting the code, Odoo is ready to be installed. Just run this, and the installation will begin.

$ docker-compose up

If this is the first time you are installing Odoo, the program will try to download a couple of stuff you need to wait, but if you already install Odoo before, the program will start immediately, and you can access it through http://localhost:9000

Create database form

When you access http://localhost:9000, there will be this form that you need to fill. After filling out the form, the database creation will take a couple of minutes to be created. You can take a bathroom break during this time.

Database successfully created

And this concludes the installation process. During this process, I experience some trouble. When I’m reinstalling the docker container, I forgot to delete the container that already exists on the docker desktop, so there will be this error message.

raise ValueError(‘External ID not found in the system: %s’ % xmlid) web_1 | ValueError: External ID not found in the system: web.login — -’.

To solve this, you need to delete the previous container and redo the steps above. But for me, I was panicked and searched the errors message for about 10 minutes before I realize that I forgot to delete the previous container.

Thank you for reading my experiences toward installing Odoo 12 in macOS with Docker. I hope this will helps anyone who reads this.

Aditya Nanda Tri Prakoso
1706074612

Also, join me here and learning together at this community at Telegram.

--

--